Skip to content
[sp_image_alt]
26 May 2011

Review: Vogue Paris June/July 2011

Dear Emmanuelle, 1989 called – they want their style back!

All jokes aside, it’s a sad day when you flick through your favourite magazine and realise that you’d rather alphabetise your DVD collection in the dark.

Hooped earrings? No, just no. It’s far too WAG for the snobbish Londoner in me. The only non-chav who can off such jewellery is Beyoncé, and even then it’s not quite right for Vogue Paris. Has the budget been cut for VP? Why are there so many images from back in the day?

We heart Eniko, really we do, but do we really need her in the Beauté section for two consecutive issues? I’m pretty sure we covered bronzing last month, so why the beep is it the main beauty feature this issue? Yet again, she has her breasts on display. I get it now, Emmanuelle likes breasts and apparently thinks this is going to add provocation to Vogue Paris. Newsflash sweetheart, we’re women, we have breasts. Move on!

I have always enjoyed the Bijoux section, which normally features jewels the late (and eternally fabulous) Elizabeth Taylor would have been envious of but no, not this issue. You’re not going to believe this but the editorial opens with an image from a Vogue Nippon circa July 2010. 2010 people! Pure laziness.

The ‘Miss Vogue’ section opens with a pretty, non-offensive editorial that one would find in the magazine supplement with the Sunday papers; the type of editorial you’d flick through whilst waiting for your potatoes to roast. Surprisingly, this was styled by Véronique Didry. “Une Fille Un Style” is back with Isabelle Kountoure.

Mert & Marcus photograph Isabeli Fontana and er.. a can of coke for the issue’s main editorial as styled by Editor-in-chief Emmanuelle Alt. Someone needs to tell Madame Alt that those Moschino trousers are so wrong, they’re almost illegal. Loving the red Blumarine bikini top though. Look, it’s a magazine and we know this is photography, but why does it look so staged?

‘Sea, Air & Sun’ sees Anja Rubik posing with, yes you guessed right, her breasts out. Downtown sees Sasha Pivovarova styled by Joe McKenna and photographed by dream time Inez Van Lamsweerde & Vinoodh Matadin, running around New York looking like a hobo with perfectly-manicured nails. My kind of hobo! Despite the styling being off – sandals and white socks?! – there is a lot of movement in the editorial and with the backdrop of the city, it works. The criticism is that Sasha is constantly looking at the camera. It would have been far more interesting to observe her, not the other way round.

Anastasia Barbieri attempts to pull off a remake of Emmanuelle Alt’s fabulous June/July 2010 editorial featuring Kate Moss, only to fail miserably. The model, Karmen Pedaru, looks sublime, the pieces from designers such as Rodarte, Prada and man-of-the-moment Haider Ackermann are envy-inducing, the location is where we all dream of when stuck in our routine world but, yes another question for the Vogue Paris team, why is Karmen constantly in the same pose? The editorial opens with a sensual and playful image and is then repeated for the next 7 images. Boring.

I don’t even know what to tell you. I cannot even say it’s bad, it’s just nothingness. PG-rated nothingness. Vogue Paris used to have an impact, to push boundaries, to get you talking and thinking, and even refusing to post the images on your blog, but right now, all I’m thinking is a. please dear God let Carine start another magazine and/or b. can someone please suggest a good French-language magazine that is on the same level as Vogue Paris circa Carine’s reign. Pretty please.

Major disappointment.  

17 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 May 2011 17:58

    Milla, I am always looking forward to your witty reviews of Vogue Paris since Emmanuelle took over the full responsibility. Thank you for this one too!!! It was a delight reading it – as always.

  2. callalilly101 permalink
    26 May 2011 21:07

    Thank you .. I used to run to Book Soup (in West Hollywood, has every magazine in the world, I think) to go through and tear out pages (after purchased).

    Carine.

    That’s all.

    Seriously.

  3. nadia permalink
    27 May 2011 02:31

    I’ll purchase it nonetheless. Although this is just Alt’s 3rd issue, it certainly doesn’t bode well for her future as E-I-C. Have you conversed with the french regarding this? Do they STILL love her over there? And why do models RELIGIOUSLY put theur chin up as if gasping for air in every other frame in editorials/campaigns? Appriciate your committed and honest review each month, merci Milla! :)

    • 27 May 2011 12:25

      You’re welcome!

      In just 3 issues Nadia, she has taken it from the top of the fashion glossies, to an awful load of “beep”!

      My friend pointed out how she dresses to shows and so on: not very Vogue Paris editor like. She needs to get out of those trousers and glam it up a bit! I haven’t discussed with anybody, but I am curious as to how the sales are doing… I will not be renewing my subscription.

  4. 27 May 2011 02:45

    Man I wish I could get my hands on VOGUE Paris… = )

    • 27 May 2011 12:18

      Or not, as the case may be! It’s super expensive there, right?

  5. 27 May 2011 20:16

    I had to google WAG…ah yes. Milla, you are so freaking funny! Sorry honey but your disappointment is giving me a laugh. Poor Ms. Alt is just not measuring up. Ahhh Milla, I hate to say this but I hope she has a few more fails. Milla tells it like it is dammit!
    Cupcake
    xo

    • 28 May 2011 08:54

      I always forget that British English is different. Yes “WAG” is not a nice thing…

      It’s so freakin’ awful Cupcake – Emmanuelle needs to hear it from the reader.

      xx

  6. 30 May 2011 17:40

    The thing is I SHOULD read Vogue, to stay aware of what’s shaking in fashion photography, but I can’t be bothered any more, it’s boooooring – and Numero isn’t going well either :(

    • 31 May 2011 10:43

      I am so happy to hear another person agree: it is so freakin’ dull! I never really read Numero but some of the editorials were okay. I will have a look and report back!

  7. everydayglamour permalink
    2 June 2011 18:39

    Oh, Milla, I thoroughly enjoyed your review! I know you’re disappointed but I’m having too much fun reading these…Please keep ‘em coming!! xoxo

    • 6 June 2011 10:58

      Merci beaucoup Kate! The disappointment is worth it for you! :-)

      xx

  8. 18 June 2011 20:30

    The late 80s-looking cover and editorial had to be an homage to Linda Evangelista in her glory days, but I’d rather see the real Linda!

    It seems Emmanuelle Alt is taking Vogue Paris to the same place Brit Vogue has gone. I love Tim Walker’s dreamy editorials, but I would typically receive my (now cancelled) subscription, open the packaging to reveal the cover, and exclaim to no one particular, ‘Are you kidding me??!!’

    I hope Paris Vogue recovers, it must!

    • 20 June 2011 13:20

      That’s why I stopped subscribing to British Vogue as well! It’s so sad that these magazines have gone so far downhill, and the problem is that the new readers know no difference.

      Vogue Paris used to be the magazine you could read over and over again, a magazine full of conversation-starting editorials and despite being a fashion mag, it used to evoke strong reactions in you. Now it’s PC, dull and far to matchy-matchy for my liking. Alas, I have another 5 issues of my subscription. I will not renew.

      Which magazines do you read these days?

Trackbacks

  1. Review: Vogue Paris August 2011 « Not Just Another Milla

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>